~Excerpt from What I Must Tell Myself by David Whyte

“And though all the things I love

may pass away and

the great family of things and people

I have made around me

will see me go,

I feel them living in me

like a great gathering

ready to reach a greater home

When one thing dies all things

die together, and must live again

in a different way,

when one thing is missing everything is missing,

and must be found again

in a new whole

and everything wants to be complete,

everything wants to go home

and the geese traveling south

are like the shadow of my breath

flying into darkness

on great heart-beats

to an unknown land where I belong”

~Excerpt from What I Must Tell Myself by David Whyte

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

