True Compassion

 “Our task must be to free ourselves by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of

                    nature and its  beauty. “   -Albert Einstein

 

I am sometimes completely baffled by the things people say and believe.  Over the past couple weeks I have come across  people, animal advocates, telling me about their encounters with people stating that the work we do for animals we should be doing for people. Or people question if we would give the same effort for people.  I can only shake my head in wonder. First there is not a limit on true compassion…the more compassion we give the more it grows. Second we are interdependent ..the human species shares a home with all the other species on this amazing planet.  We are connected whether we want to admit it or not. It is our responsibility as part of the human species to care and protect in whatever way we can.  People can work for animal rights and human rights as well. One does not exclude the other.  I also support and work for women’s rights, which are human rights, protecting children from abuse and exploitation, protecting the environment, ending human trafficking and a variety of injustices I observe in my daily existence.  I do have a passion for animal rescue and I know it is because animals have been a tremendous gift in my life, helping me to heal, helping me to rediscover the love and compassion I have always had within myself.

The world needs more compassion for animals, for people, for the tress and plants, for the oceans, for all that we are connected to.  It is a strength to live a life of compassion. Love and compassion are human attributes just as hatred and indifference. Every day we have a choice in our daily interactions to either feed hatred and indifference  or choose kindness and compassion.  I don’t believe that we can have too much compassion in the world, if anything I think there is not enough.

Jen Donahue

 

“If you have men who will exclude any of God’s creatures from the shelter of compassion and pity, you will have men who will deal likewise with their fellow men. “
-Francis of Assisi

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

