making a difference

“If you think you are too small to make a difference, try sleeping with a mosquito.” ~His Holiness The Dalai Lama XIV

 

I can attest to this statement…living in Maine we have our share of mosquitoes. Right now they are loving the weather here, warm, wet…they are relentless and can send the most tranquil, kind person into fits of agitation and aggression. Personally I don’t like to harm any living being, but when a mosquito gets in my car and buzzes around my head while I’m driving the turnpike…let’s just say I have no mercy. I do say a prayer if I squash one..I don’t know if that makes amends… People talk about road rage, but mosquito rage could also be a state of mind here in Maine. We start the spring with no-seeums, black flies and then we get to mosquitoes.  I am making light of this statement by the Dalai Lama, but I also do believe in it’s truth.  We are all connected and I have seen how a smile, a thank you can change someone’s day including my own.  A small act of kindness…a smile, a kind word, an acknowledgement that I see you, I hear you, I know you hurt and you are not alone. Kindness is contagious.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

