The Healing Time

The Healing Time

                                                Finally on my way to yes
                                                I bump into
                                                all the places
                                                where I said no
                                                to my life
                                                all the untended wounds
                                                the red and purple scars
                                                those hieroglyphs of pain
                                                carved into my skin, my bones,
                                                those coded messages
                                                that send me down
                                                the wrong street
                                                again and again
                                                where I find them
                                                the old wounds
                                                the old misdirections
                                                and I lift them
                                                one by one
                                                close to my heart
                                                and I say    holy
                                                holy.

                                                   © Pesha Joyce Gertler

Healing…has never been what I thought it would be…it has been more challenging and painful than i could have thought possible…and then there are the moments of pure joy and contentment that catch me by surprise…I have learned that healing does have it’s own time and it is usually not what I would like…healing is accepting it all, the pain and sorrow to open to the joy and wonder that is part of this life, this human experience.  I have thought for most of my life that I wasn’t good enough that I couldn’t be ok…I am continuing to learn that there isn’t even a question of being good enough…it is a ridiculous and damaging question to continually ask myself…Jen

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. What a beautiful poem… I love that concept ‘on the road to yes’… Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

