A Happy Ending

Sammy…. Bait dog rescued healed by LOVE

by David Hendrickson

This story is a little different then the normal tributes we do for animals. This is one story that ends with a happy ending. This is the story about how a abused, tortured, destroyed bait dog changed my life….His name is Sammy.For those of you who dont know Sammy was a dog I found a few months ago. He was used as a bait dog in Pomona CA. Bait dogs are animals used literally as “bait” for dog fighting rings. They are continually attacked, broken, and tortured every day. When I rescued him off the streets he was completely destroyed. Cover from head to tail in cuts, gaping wounds, bite marks all over and his nose had been broken over and over. His nose was so badly broken it will never look “normal” again. Even that night when I rescued him, through his pain, he still was the sweetest guy ever. He had been like this for quit a while and his wounds were covered in dirt and puss. I took him right into my bathroom and picked him up in my arms and gently cleaned his injuries. I cried because I just could not understand how anyone could do this to animals. Even tho he was clearly in a lot of pain and with blood washing down the shower drain…. he sat there and licked my tears away. He is a true hero. 

That night I held him like a baby. A 60 pound destroyed bait dog pit bull laid in my arms like a newborn and I cuddled him the whole night. He slept so well… as if it was the first time in a very long time he was able to sleep un-afraid and finally loved. Well now a few months later I received an email from his new family the Blaylocks showing me his home and his happy smiles! I am still crying with tears of joy as I write this because seeing Sammy finally with the love he deserves means everything to us at Hendrick Boards. He taught us all just how strong animals are and is yet another reminder of why we fight every single day to save animals just like him. Tonight I will sleep happy holding my rescue dog William knowing our buddy Sammy is loved. I love you Sammy and we will fight every day to save animals just like you. Just shows the power of LOVE!Much Love,
David Hendrickson 

 

Sammy- After

David Hendrickson | August 2, 2012 at 7:25 pm | Categories: Uncategorized | URL:http://wp.me/p2wCJp-95
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment